Senate dedicates building honoring late U.S. Rep.


We attended committee meetings and are actively involved in the budget process, hearing agency requests for fiscal year 2019 funding.

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves gave new committee assignments to Senators Kevin Blackwell, Philip Moran, Mike Seymour, Sally Doty, Briggs Hopson, Neil Whaley and Joel Carter. I commend the Lt. Governor on those selections.

We passed a Rules calendar and many senators attended a building dedication in downtown Jackson for former Republican Senator and Congressman Patrick Alan Nunnelee, who served 16 years in the senate before winning an election in November 2010 to claim Mississippi’s 1st Congressional District , taking office in January 2011.

Nunnelee died in February 2015, at age 56. I was honored to have served with him.

Please call on me at 601-359-3209 if I can be of service to you. I thank you for the honor of being your voice in Jackson.

Terry Burton, R-Newton, represents Senate District 31. Call 601-359-3234 to contact Burton in Jackson.